When will the XV Moscow International Historical Model of the United Nations RSUH take place?

It will be held from November 15 to 19, 2021.

Where will the XV Moscow International Historical Model of the United Nations RSUH take place?

It will take place in Russian State University for Humanities, Moscow, metro station Novoslobodskaya, Chayanova str., 15.

Who can participate in the XV Moscow International Historical Model of the United Nations RSUH?

There are no age restrictions, but the main audience is university and high school students.

How to register for the XV Moscow International Historical Model of the United Nations RSUH?

The registration opens on October 1. To register you need to fill in the form of the committee you want to participate in. Links to the forms can be found on the Model's website and in the official VK group.

How are the participants of the XV Moscow International Historical Model UN RSUH selected?

The candidate fills in the form of the committee in the work of which he wants to take part. The important component of the form is the essay that is examined by the expert of the committee. If the expert is satisfied with the essay, he writes an E-mail to the candidate to appoint the time of the video-interview. During the interview the expert checks the candidate for knowledge of the history and structure of the UN, as well as of the agenda of the committee. If the candidate fails the interview, he can ask about another interview and prepare better for the next time.

How to write an essay?

In an essay the candidate should reveal his opinion on the problem raised on the agenda of the committee. The essay is an important part of the registration form of any committee, it normally contains 150 - 600 words. When preparing to write the essay, be sure to read the expert’s report on the agenda of the chosen committee and to search for some additional information.
The essay should contain three parts (introduction, main part, conclusion), be accurate and reasoned. In the introduction the nature and the importance of the problem should be described. Don’t forget that our Model is historical, which means that you shouldn't look at the problem from the modern point of view. Check the date indicated in the brackets near the agenda: that’s when the real session on that agenda was held. So try to consider the problem from the perspective of the contemporaries of that session. In the main part of your essay you should mention the actions of the UN and especially of your committee that are related to the agenda, then you should evaluate those actions, its efficiency. Be sure to suggest your way to solve the problem and give reasons why this way is a good one. The essay should be written in the language of the committee in the work of which you are applying for participation.

What is a “position statement”, how to write it?

The “position statement” is a speech prepared before the session to address the delegations, in which the official government position of the country (that you chose) to the problem raised on the agenda is reflected. Remember that you represent the delegation of the country, so use “we” instead of “I” in your speech.
The “position statement” usually contains 150 - 300 words. It shouldn’t be long because the time of speaking is limited. It must begin with a greeting of other delegations and of the committee leadership.
The speech is normally divided into three parts: introduction, main part, conclusion. In the introduction you should explain why the agenda is important and currently central for your state and for the international community. In the main part indicate the official government position of your country on the problem, whether it coincides with the UN position and why; what actions has your country made to solve the problem and what future plans it has. In the conclusion it’s advisable to express hope for the successful cooperation and solution of the problem by joint efforts.

What is the registration fee?

Registration fee is the obligatory payment for the participation in the Model that is charged to cover the costs of the event. In 2021 it is 350 rubles and it is obligatory for all the participants of the Model. The payment is made after the successful interview with the expert of the committee before the beginning of the Model.

Will the participants get the confirmation of participation in the XV Moscow International Historical Model of the United Nations RSUH?

All the participants that skipped less than one day of the Model will receive certificates of participation during the official closing of the Model.

Is it possible to get the document for exemption from classes for the time of the XV Moscow International Historical Model of the United Nations RSUH?

Yes, it is possible. You need to contact the presidium of the committee with a request to provide the certificate for exemption from classes.

Are participants provided with accommodation for during the Model?

Unfortunately not, but we can help you find accommodation.

Когда будет проходить XIV Московская Международная Историческая Модель ООН РГГУ?

Модель будет проходить с 5 по 9 апреля 2021 года.

Где будет проходить XIV Московская Международная Историческая Модель ООН РГГУ?

Модель состоится в Российском Государственном Гуманитарном Университете, г. Москва, станция метро Менделеевская, ул. Чаянова, д.15.

Кто может принимать участие в XIV Московской Международной Исторической Модели ООН РГГУ?

Ограничений по возрасту нет, но основная аудитория - это студенты и школьники старших классов.

Как зарегистрироваться на XIV Московскую Международную Историческую Модель ООН РГГУ?

Регистрация на Модель откроется 1 октября. Для регистрации необходимо заполнить анкету комитета, в котором Вы хотите принять участие. Ссылки на анкеты можно найти на сайте модели и в официальной группе ВКонтакте.

Как проходит отбор на XIV Московскую Международную Историческую Модель ООН РГГУ?

Кандидат заполняет анкету на участие в определённом комитете. Важной составляющей анкеты являются "тезисы", которые проверяются экспертом комитета. Если "тезисы" устраивают эксперта, то он пишет кандидату на почту с целью определить дату и время видеоинтервью. В ходе интервью эксперт проверяет кандидата на предмет знания истории и структуры ООН, а также повестки дня комитета. В случае, если собеседование прошло неудачно, кандидат может попросить о повторном собеседовании и к следующему разу подготовиться лучше.

Что такое "тезисы", как их писать?

Тезисы - это небольшое эссе (от 150 до 600 слов), в котором участник модели излагает свой взгляд на видение проблемы, поставленной в повестке комитета. Написание тезисов необходимо для того, чтобы подать заявку на участие в любом комитете. При подготовке к написанию тезисов обязательно ознакомьтесь с докладом эксперта по повестке, а также поищите дополнительную информацию.
Тезисы должны состоять из трёх основных частей (вступление, основная часть, заключение), быть точными и аргументированными. Во вступлении опишите суть проблемы; объясните почему проблема актуальна. Не забывайте, что наша модель историческая, и смотреть на проблему надо не с современной точки зрения: год моделируемого заседания указан в скобках около повестки. В основной части следует рассказать о действиях ООН в целом и о действиях Вашего комитета в отношении этой проблемы, оценить эти действия, их эффективность. Обязательно предложите свои варианты решения проблемы и аргументируйте почему следует действовать именно так. Учтите, что тезисы следует писать на языке комитета, в который вы подаёте заявку на участие.

Что такое "позиция страны", как ее писать?

Позиция страны - это заранее приготовленный текст для выступления у трибуны перед другими делегациями, в котором отражено официальное отношение правительства Вашей страны к проблеме, поднятой в повестке. Так как Вы представляете делегацию, пишите от первого лица множественного числа ("мы").
Примерный объем позиции составляет 100 - 350 слов. Позиция не должна быть слишком большой, так как время выступления делегаций ограничено.
Выступление обязательно должно начинаться с приветствия других делегаций и руководства комитета. Далее речь делится на три основные части (вступление, основная часть, заключение). Во вступлении нужно отразить значимость и актуальность проблемы для вашей страны и всего мирового сообщества. В основной части укажите официальную позицию Вашей страны по проблеме, совпадает ли она с позицией ООН и почему; какие меры Ваша страна уже предприняла для решения проблемы, какие планирует предпринять. В заключении желательно выразить надежду на успешное сотрудничество и решение проблемы совместными усилиями.

Что такое регистрационный взнос?

Регистрационный взнос - это оплата за участие в Модели, которая взимается для покрытия расходов на проведение мероприятия. В 2021 г. регистрационный взнос составляет 350 рублей. Плата является обязательной для всех участников модели. Оплата производится после успешного прохождения интервью с экспертом, до начала Модели.

Получат ли участники подтверждение об участии в XIV Московской Международной Исторической Модели ООН РГГУ?

Все участники Модели, которые пропустили не более одного дня модели, получат сертификаты об участии на официальном закрытии Модели.

Можно ли получить документ для освобождении от занятий на время XIV Московской Международной Исторической Модели ООН РГГУ?

Да, можно, для этого необходимо обратиться к президиуму комитета с просьбой о предоставлении справки об участии.

Предоставляется ли участникам жилье на время XIV Московской Международной Исторической Модели ООН РГГУ?

К сожалению, нет, но мы можем оказать помощь в поиске жилья.